Silence, revisited

I’m sure this will be something I come back to often,  largely because I’m bad at it. Silence. I wouldn’t say it scares me, but I don’t yet know what to do with it. 

According to one bad-ass priest named Richard Rohr, silence really isn’t a thing to master, but something to enter into, like the air that completely surrounds us. To Mr. Rohr, without silence, we react, we jump from activity to activity and never really experience our own lives. Gut punch!

I like to think I’m a little more in tune with my own existence, but truth be told, I’m just coasting. Silence seems like a waste of time in this society, though I am not one to withhold criticism for the ridiculous amount of crap that happens in this country without so much as a blink from the majority. I’ll save that for later, since I’m still working out the usefulness of such critiques anyhow. 

One thing I do know for sure is that I am part of the human race and it is my full intention to live compassionately on behalf of it and if silence helps me get to a place where I can join in the journey of life with my community, I’ll practice until my death. I haven’t bought back into the organized religion stuff yet, but there are voices and movements of within the universe that suggest we are better off working together, finding commonality rather than dwelling on our differences. 

I’ll see where the journey goes and I’m hopeful for the good. 

Leave a Reply

